Growing Every Day

We have been “officially” homeschooling for two years now.  This being what I consider my second-and-a-half year (because I just don’t really know if I can count that first year!).  Anywho, we are starting the fifth week of this year’s schooling and I am beginning to see/feel a rhythm developing (insert angel choir).

In light of this, and thinking over some key elements, I want to share with you 7 items that I use daily and I believe are crucial players in our new found rhythm.  The following will be a list and brief description of my most used items in our homeschool.  The next two or three posts will go into a little more detail in how we use each item.

Cubbies

Oh my wonderful cubbies.  We have a huge lack of storage in our house and so it was important to me to be able to have our school supplies relatively contained.  This piece of furniture allows us to house Builder’s and Princess’s supplies, my teacher guides, and basic school supplies such as crayons, glue, markers, construction paper, math manipulative, pencil sharpener, etc.  (To find out more details about how I use the cubbies, click here.)

Photo Aug 08, 9 11 19 AM

3-Ring Binder and Hole Punch

Yes, these are two very common items that have revolutionized our homeschool lives.  All (or a good representation of) the kids work goes into these binders according to subject.  Each day, I have a time to file any work that goes in for that day.  Not all of our lessons result in paper work, but that which does gives us a great cross-section of work at the end of the year.  This also serves as our portfolio for the year.  (To find out more details about how I use the 3-ring binders, click here.)

Photo Aug 08, 9 12 33 AM

Weekly Plan Sheet and Daily Spiral

The first is a weekly plan sheet for myself.  This helps me keep straight the plan for the week (understanding we have flexibility in this).  However, having a plan ahead of time has helped me stay focused.  The second is a daily spiral for Builder and Princess.  This lets them know the items they need to work toward completing for the day.  Both kiddos love to check off lists, so this works well for them.  (To find out more details about how I use the weekly/daily sheets, click here.)

Rainbow Drawers

I am not sold on the workmanship of these drawers.  They are a little more rickety than expected, but they are priceless in our organization department.  Hindsight, I could probably accomplish the same thing with a paper sorter, though it is fun to have the bright colors in our space.  Overall, they made it into the top seven of my favorite items.  (To find out more details about how I use the rainbow drawers, click here.)

Photo Aug 08, 11 41 27 AM

Routine

Our routine.  This has just come along this year.  More about our routine will be described in a later post, but for now it suffices to say that in finding a routine, life has been made a little easier.  This is not tied to specific times during the day, but a repeating order for each school day.  Again, life happens…doctor appointments, library runs, errands.  What I have found is that we can step out and back in to the routine fairly easily. (To find out more details about our routine, click here.)

Photo Aug 08, 9 10 35 AM

That’s it!  My favorite daily homeschool items.  I hope this may have helped you, as others have helped me find our rhythm.  Stay tuned for following posts describing in more detail how I use these items in my daily dance.

What are some of your favorite homeschool or classroom organizational items?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

